Main menu


Coins have been made in the British Isles for more than 2,000 years. The Celtic clans of Britain were referred to have delivered coins as exchanging tokens the most punctual hundreds of years AD, yet coin creation and the printing cycle was genuinely settled during Roman control of the British Isles, with mints made across England, Wales, and Scotland. 

The Royal Mint formally records its establishing date as 886 – the year that Alfred the Great became King. Under King Alfred, the crown was answerable for all given money coins, with different mints serving the domain to create these tokens for the populace. 

Control got brought together around the Tower of London in 1279, with satellite mints actually existing yet now answering to the Tower's heads. As various occasions happened, like the English Civil War, different mints were set up to satisfy the coin needs of every hopeful to the seat. 

In the current day, the Royal Mint Ltd is possessed completely by Her Majesty's Treasury and has a select agreement as the sole authorized maker of British coinage; both bullion and flow coins. 

Course of events of British coin mints: 

287 – The London Mint opened. 

337 – The London Mint shut. 

650 – The London Mint returned. 

690 – The Rochester Mint opened. 

871 – The Oxford Mint opened. 

1016 – The Bristol Mint opened around this date roughly. 

1056 – 1059 – The Horndon Mint worked between these dates roughly. 

1066 – The Oxford Mint shut. 

1136 – The Carlisle Mint is caught by David the First of Scotland, turning into Scotland's first Mint. 

twelfth Century – The Edinburgh Mint opened. 

1216 – The Rochester Mint shut. 

1279 – The London Mint moves to turn into the Tower Mint. 

1642 – 1651 – The English Civil War. 16 mints opened the nation over, to supply the two sides of the contention. 

1642 – 1646 – The Oxford Mint briefly resumed. 

1696 – William III foundations The Great Recoinage. Isaac Newton is made a Warden of the Mint. 

1696 – The Bristol Mint returned as a Branch Mint as a feature of the Great Recoinage, alongside Chester, Exeter, Norwich, and York. 

1698 – The Bristol Mint shut, and was purchased out to turn into a workhouse. 

1700 – Isaac Newton is elevated to Master of the Mint (until his passing in 1727). 

1707 – The Act of Union saw all Scottish coin stamping move to London. 

1710 – The Edinburgh Mint shut on 4 th August, three years after the Act of Union. 

1788 – Matthew Boulton opened the Soho Mint in Handsworth, Birmingham. 

1797 – Boulton acquires the option to make copper cash for the Royal Mint at his Soho Mint. 

1799 – The Royal Mint starts to change over steam-fueled coin presses from Matthew Boulton. 

1809 – The Royal Mint moved toward the East End and established the Royal Mint Court on Little Tower Hill. 

1817 – The Edinburgh Mint was canceled totally. 

1830 – The Edinburgh Mint structure was auctions off. 

1848 – The Soho Mint, Handsworth shut. 

1850 – The Heaton Mint opens in Birmingham, purchasing up a large part of the old Soho Mint apparatus. 

1877 – The Edinburgh Mint structure was destroyed. 

1965 – The private Pobjoy Mint is established in Sussex, where it actually works today. 

1968 – The Royal Mint starts to migrate from its confined London central command to a bigger, more disengaged site in South Wales. 

1975 – The Royal Mint finishes its move of the whole of tasks to Llantrisant, South Wales. 

The following is a rundown of all the significant British coin mints; how and why they were set up, regardless of whether they proceeded or stopped creation, and their recorded pertinence or importance. 

London Mint: 

287 AD – 337 AD and 650 AD approx. – 1279 

It will not shock anyone that the London Mint was the principal significant mint in England and is accepted to have been the primary significant mint in Britain. Set up by the Romans, the mint filled in as their British base for coin creation – enhancing the enormous amounts of coins got from the realm. 

Because of the restricted requirement for the mint, creation was extremely irregular, with the mint shutting for around 200 years following the Roman mass migration from England in 410/411 AD. The London Mint restarted modest quantities of coin creation from around 650 AD, yet it wasn't until Alfred the Great became King that the London Mint truly started to yield customary money. 

During the 870s AD the London Mint started to make silver pennies bearing Alfred's resemblance, with some likewise expressing LONDONIA. Help was allowed to the mint from Rochester, whose proceeded with creation implied they had the coin stamping skill, just as hardware and materials, expected to make customary coins. A few specialists accept the town was remunerated for its assistance with consent to deliver coins close by London. 

As London set up itself, different mints sprung up close by Rochester. Inside a couple of years there were 30 mints across Britain, and when of Ethelred II (978 – 1016) there were 70 mints. In spite of the fact that the quantity of mints appears to be uncommon by the present principles it ought to be recalled that these would have been little offices like metal forgers, instead of the huge monetary foundations of current mints. These didn't keep going long in the fabulous plan of British history, as the Norman Conquest in the thirteenth Century shaved the rundown back down to London and Canterbury, with a couple of special cases. 

The London Mint's area isn't conclusively known, however it's accepted to have been in a spot called Old Change (presently Old Change Court) close to Cheapside, a street that ran along the Goldsmith's Quarter. 

^ Back To Top 

Rochester Mint: 

690 – 750 AD approx. and 930 AD – 1216 

Little data is accessible about the Rochester Mint. It is one of a few little mints which existed in the main thousand years, altogether expanding its responsibility in 930 AD a few years in the wake of King Alfred took to the seat. 

The Portable Antiquities Scheme records coins made from the hour of William I (The Conqueror), just as William II, Henry I, and King John of England. 

The specific date of the Rochester Mint's conclusion is obscure. 

^ Back To Top 

Oxford Mint: 

871 – 1066 and 1642 – 1646 

The Oxford Mint is the following known most seasoned mint in Britain. As referenced over, the Rochester Mint was a helper to the London Mint, however Oxford was one of the other five that set up itself during the rule of King Alfred, including Maldon, Hertford, and Canterbury. 

Silver coins were made at the site during the rules of Alfred and Ethelred, and it wasn't until King Charles I relocated to the seventeenth Century during the English Civil War that another coin was made. During this four-year time frame there was an Oxford Crown, bearing Charles' picture, riding a pony, and set before the city of Oxford.